Unable to open SQL Server database file (.mdf)

Experts,

I have a SQL Server 2005 database file (a .mdf file) that I am trying to open in SQL Server Management Studio so I can add a field to a table, but I am unable to open the file. I can't say that I really understand how SQL Server handles these databases. I especially don't understand the "attaching" and "detaching" operations.

I am working in VB.Net 2008 now, but my background is with VB6 using the JET engine. It was just so straightforward using the JET engine, but seems so much more complicated with SQL Server. I am trying to use .mdf files the same way I used .mdb files. I want my application to find the database file, "attach to it", and let me manipulate it.

At one time I was able to open my database in Sql Server Management Studio and edit the design of the database. The application still works but I am no longer able to modify the database because I cannot attach to it in Management Studio.

Here is a big clue: the files are no longer in the special folder anymore, which is c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.2\MSSQL\DATA. I might have deleted the files, stupidly, thinking they were redundant. I still have the .mdf file (and the _log.ldf file) on my hard drive and the application can still open it, but when I try to use Management Studio to attach to the .mdf file, I get this error:

Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express
An error occurred when attaching the database(s). Click the hyperlink in the Message column for details.

here are the details:
Unable to open the physical file "c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.2\MSSQL\DATA\HEALSExamsSQL.mdf". Operating system error 2: "2(The system cannot find the file specified.)". (.Net SqlClient Data Provider)