Monitoring user activity in database

I need to log the activity of all user database accounts so I can review the activity periodically and look out for strange behavior for audit purposes.

And if this sort of logging already exist, is there a table in the database that holds such information?

Unfortunately I'm completely new to SQL Server.

Can anyone assist?

I think the problem with monitoring of "activity" is that you are looking for the proverbial needle-in-haystack. There are tools that will log all activity, but I'm not sure how you would analyse it. Other folk here will have suggestions, but personally I don't do it that way so I'm no help in terms of how you might do that with something that is as-is but which you want to monitor.

We use Audit tables. So for, for example, a table of Customers with have an AuditCustomers table. All the same columns, plus a column for Date/Time and whether the row was updated or delete. We don't store the current row (that's in the table itself), we store the "previous" row when it is changed/deleted.

All our tables have columns for Create/Update Date and UserID, so the Audit table provides a history of who-did-what-and-when.

We delete rows from Audit tables based on date, which may vary table-to-table. When we purge stale rows we retain one row older than the cutoff - so instead of being able to say "This row has not changed in the last 3 months" (which, IME, tends to the question "Are we sure") we can say "This row has not changed in the last 3 months, and the previous change before that was on dd-Mmm-yyyy hh:mm"

Mostly we use this to detect software issues, or accidental human error, but I have been asked to review historical data for fraud too.

Anyone with DBA access to the database can massage the data however they like, so if you have concerns for those employees something more sophisticated would be required.