Mask a named server instance

Hi everybody,
this is my first post on this forum, so I apologize if I choose the wrong category...

some year ago, as a total newbie, I installed a server with a named instance. At that time I used a physical server, and moreover I probably thought that SQL 2005 was the last version name for SQL server, so I named my instance with something like "hpserver\sql2005"...

Today I have a virtualized system, and I need to migrate SQL2005 to SQL 2014 (or 2016) and I would like to "rename" that instance.

The matter is that in last years more and more programs both with ODBC and ADO.NET connect to my server, and it's impossible to change all this programs in short time to connect to a new server.

My answer so is: it is possible to install a new server, named for example "ALPHA", and find some way to "redirect" all requests for older server to newest? I made some test and my matter is not (obviously) computer name, that I can mask with DNS, but instance name...

Hoping someone can help to correct my youth errors...

thanks

Mauro

I'm afraid that, since you used a named instance, you will need to find and change all those connections. The other option might be to write a proxy server to translate the connection names, but I think that would be more work to develop and support than fixing the connections.

A while ago, I had to do something like this, and I did some preliminary investigation. But then requirements changed and I did not follow up on it. In my case, it was not a named instance, and the conclusion I came to was that we could add a CNAME that would point to the new server which would accomplish what I wanted to accomplish.

You might want to read through these articles to see if you can make that work.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/168322